President Trump Adds Brazil To List Coronavirus Travel Ban


United States President, Donald Trump has added Brazil to the list of travel restricted country.
This move comes as the coronavirus outbreak worsens in South America’s most populous country.

The May 24th proclamation denies entry into the United States for foreign nationals coming from Brazil.

According to the report, Johns Hopkins University recorded over 340,000 cases of coronavirus in the country — the second-highest in the world behind the United States. There’s also be an upsurge in new  Cases in the South American country for the last month, the new data shows.

This new proclamation — as announced by the White House — suspends entry for foreign nationals from entering the United States if they have physically come from Brazil in the last 14 days. More so, Commerce, however, remains open, as the new restrictions do not apply to US citizens, permanent residents, and their immediate family members.

This new travel ban is said, to go into effect at 23:59 Eastern Time on May 28th. Passengers who depart Brazil before that time will be granted entry into the United States.

As grounds for this move, the proclamation stated:

“The potential for undetected transmission of the virus by infected individuals seeking to enter the United States from the Federative Republic of Brazil threatens the security of our transportation system and infrastructure and the national security”.

What will this mean for airlines?

We should Anticipate fewer flights between Brazil and the United States, while few airlines may, However,  maintain flights to facilitate the movement of cargo.

Brazil is well known for its excellent culture, Rio carnival — the biggest in the world — and beaches; it is a big tourist destination while also being a center for commerce. As a result of this new order, travel demand will likely remain low for the next few months leading to either reduced flights or the continuation of suspended flights. It may take a few days for airlines to update their schedules, so keep a lookout on your itinerary if you are scheduled to fly to Brazil.

Aside from Brazil, President Trump has previously restricted entry for foreign nationals coming from mainland China, Iran, the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. China was the first to enter the list with Iran, the EU, the UK, and Ireland came in March– with plenty of chaos.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.